Interview with Historical Honey

fhhu

I am a contributor to a website called Historical Honey and when they announced that the website was being revamped I thought this is the perfect topic for my next blog post. Therefore, with that, I emailed the Historical Honeys also known as Annabelle, Jenna and Polly and they agreed to do an interview with me for my blog. The interview covers a bit about the three girls, the revamp of the Historical Honey website and of course History! Below are the interview questions that I sent the Historical Honeys and the answers that Annabelle sent back.

hghjfhjdvdjg

Can you tell me more about the people behind the Historical Honey website?

We are three girls who hyperventilate over anything historical.

In truth, we are pretty normal. I met Polly on my first day at University in an ancient history lecture. I was bonding with a girl next to me about castles and Polly turned around and was like ‘I love castles too!’ and that was pretty much it. Jenna came in my life a year ago in a very similar manner;

“I really like history”

“So do I”

“No, I mean, I really like history”

“So do I”

“Wanna be a part of Historical Honey”

“FOR REAL”

And the next day she’d written two articles which made my sides split!

Why did you decide to revamp the website?

Technical reasons mostly. We wanted to revamp the layout and improve navigation, and the old site was very limiting. The new site showcases a lot of brand new features, such as the #SecretBookClub, and aesthetically, we just think its nicer!

How did you come up with the new features such as the #SecretBookClub and competitions?

Personal experience taught us that it’s easy to get stuck in a rut when it comes to choosing novels, so joining the #SecretBookClub allows members to step outside their comfort zone, and hopefully provide a more honest review. The #SecretBookClub is open to all UK Contributors, who will be sent a new release at RANDOM to read and review for the site. We appreciate honestly, so we always tell our members to really go for it and sort the gems from the gravel!

How did you decide what to put on your website?

Essentially it’s been a learning curve. We listen to what our readers want and also what our contributors want to talk about. We are always open to new ideas, but the basic foundation of the site is an amalgamation of fun, easy to read 500 word articles covering all topics of history. We want to ensure history is open and accessible to everyone, and it gives our contributors a platform to voice their passions!

How did you come up with the idea for the site in the first place?

We became disheartened that the majority of historical materials were accessible only to those who could understand the archaeological journal. Therefore, we made it our mission to bring a little history to the masses. It started as a bit of a joke, “Ohh we can be the Historical Honeyz”. We soon got serious, dropped the ‘Z’ and a ‘Hive of Historical Content’ was born.

Would you have any advice for anyone who are considering a job in the history industry?

Experience and opportunity is never going to just come to you, you have to go out there and take it! Don’t get disheartened and always keep trying. If you have a passion to work in the cultural sector, do it. Life is too short.

Never think you are alone, you’d be surprised how many people are more than happy to help. If you are unsure which steps to take, please email hello@historicalhoney.com and we will point you in the right direction, or make a connection to someone who can.

The next five questions are obvious history based I hope you do not mind that:

Who is your historical heroine/hero and why?

It’s so obvious, but it has to be Anne Boleyn. Say what you like about her but you have to admire a woman of her strength. Whenever i get nervous I think “What would Anne do? “. And 95% of the time, she’s walk in the room with her head high and get exactly what she wants.

If you could invite three historical figures to dinner who would you invite and why?

Anne Boleyn, Henry VIII and Jesus (to see if he showed up)

Out of all the historical places you have visited which one is your favourite and why?

It’s a toss-up between Dover Castle and Hampton Court Palace. Both are magical to me. Dover because I grew up going most weekends and it is alive with history spanning thousands of years! And Hampton Court because a) it’s fabulous and b) it brings me a little bit closer to Henry and Anne…

If you could go back in time to one historical event, what would it be and why?

This is a hard one – I honestly couldn’t choose, there are too many…

Who are your favourite historians and how have they impacted you?

My Secondary School history teacher, Mr Harmsworth. I wouldn’t be doing what I’m doing if it wasn’t for him. He brought history alive for me and I wish every classroom had a teacher like him! (He is actually a historian…he writes books, look him up!)

Check out their amazing website:

http://www.historicalhoney.com/

Twitter:

@HistoricalHoney

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

