Elizabeth: The Golden Age Film Review

Rating 10 out of 10

‘I may not be a lion, but I am a lion’s cub, and I have a lion’s heart.’ – Elizabeth I

Last Saturday night I got my dad to record Elizabeth: The Golden Age for me and a couple of days ago I finally got to watch it. What can I say about it WELL it was such an amazing film to watch I would highly recommend it to anyone that is interested in Tudor England or Elizabethan England or even both. But if your not I would still recommend a watch. I love the way this film started and I wanted to share this with you: ‘Spain is the most powerful Empire in the world. Philip of Spain a devout Catholic has plunged Europe into Holy War. Only England stands against him. Ruled by a Protestant Queen – Elizabeth.’ Which the stained glass picture in the background while you was given a bit of background on the story that it about to unfold before your eyes! It was an absolutely magnificent view of Two Faiths, Two Empires and Two Rulers from 1588.

Image

The struggle between the Catholic’s and the Protestant’s is a well known event in History. At this point in History King Philip of Spain and the people of Spain believed that Elizabeth is a heretic and they want to make sure that they bring her downfall.

Now, I would like to talk about some of the characters that are portrayed in this film.

First, Clive Owen as Sir Walter Raleigh:

Well, right from the moment that Raleigh comes into this story I was hooked he was such an amazing character in the film and just like Queen Elizabeth and Bess Throckmorton I was captivated by this character. This is definitely a twist in his story line as when you first see Raleigh and Queen Elizabeth together and the way that they look at each other you can straight away see the chemistry between them. However, once you saw Raleigh and Bess Throckmorton together you knew straight away that their was true love between them. They are such a great Elizabethan couple. I love the fact that when Bess tells Raleigh to go back to sea he knows straight away that she is carrying his child. He then goes on to make sure that she will not be outcast totally by secretly marrying her. When the Queen hears that her number one Lady-in-waiting is pregnant with Raleigh’s child she goes mental and when she asks Bess if it is true she says it is my Husband child. That is such a fantastic moment when Bess finds the courage to tell Elizabeth that she has married Raleigh without permission from her. But from that point she orders Raleigh to be arrested and tells Bess she no longer has the protection of the Queen. This whole scene in the film is so captivating and I know straight away who’s side I was on.

I give Clive Owen a rating of 10 out of 10 on his role as Sir Walter Raleigh!

Image

Secondly, Abbie Cornish as Bess Throckmorton:

Right from the start Bess is a lovable character from the fact she has the Queen’s protection and her favor, to her love for Raleigh and to the dirty looks she gets from the Queen’s other Ladies-in-Waiting because of her relationship with the Queen. Throughout the whole film you can see Bess’ loyalty to Elizabeth even when Elizabeth makes her leave the court and removes her protection of the Queen. She still stands by her Queen faithfully.

I give Abbie Cornish a rating of 7 out of 10 for her role as Bess Throckmorton!

Image

The last character I would like to talk about is of course: Cate Blanchett as Queen Elizabeth:

Cate Blanchett has been one of the best Queen Elizabeth I have seen. Once she put them clothes on and that ginger wig it was like she had become the character that she was playing. When it came to it she pulled all the stop to make sure that she played Queen Elizabeth the best she could. Her relationship with Bess Throckmorton shows that she did really have a true friend and it didn’t matter what she did to Bess, Bess still stuck by her beloved Queen with loyalty and faith. She played an amazing warrior Queen who had the strength to defeat King Philip and Spain for once and make sure he didn’t mess with her and her beloved country again. I loved the raw emotions she gave when it came to finally having to sign her cousin Mary, Queen of Scots death warrant and the powerful emotion that she had on the day of Mary’s execution. If is sure to bring many people to tears at how it is effecting Elizabeth.

I give Cate Blanchett a rating of 8 out of 10 for her role as Queen Elizabeth I!

Image

I know I have the body of a weak and feeble woman, but I have the heart and stomach of a King!’ – Elizabeth I

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Elizabeth: The Golden Age Film Review

  1. irene chunn

    I loved this film.

  2. your blog is wondefrul
    it puts life into history

Leave a Reply

